Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of the corporations, provided they operate within law, is to make as much money as possible.

A sense of responsibility towards our surrounding is very important and much needed, especially in today’s world, where apathy is ruling everywhere and the moral degradation is increasing everyday hurting our beautiful world and its elements including people and environment. The prompt presents an argument regarding this- whether corporations should extend their responsibilities for the betterment of the society and the environment along with their own business interest or they should limit themselves to their own financial thoughts. I believe, as stated in the beginning, corporations being part of this world filled with needs and helps, should take part in the social welfare and contribute to save the environment.

When a business organization installs it production unit in an area, it creates multiple opportunities starting including various job opportunities and arousal of small business centering that facility. It is expected that the corporation would hire from the local competent youths rather than fetching workers from outside. This is not just expected, but also needed to solve the unemployment problem of that area and bring an increment to the local financial condition. For example, when the tobacco company BAT opened there plant in Kushtia, Bangladesh, it helped the local students join there immediately after their graduation. Being a rural area and agriculture being the major field of work, this opportunity helped those local students to learn more, get acquainted with the norms and cultures of a large multinational corporation, which would otherwise be impossible for them to get access to.

Furthermore, when a corporation needs to install their factory in a rural area where roads and other communication facilities are poor, instead of waiting for the government or other local authority to improve the situation they should come up with a solution such as to build roads and network towers. It will not only help their communication and production lead time, but also the local people will be benefitted. For instance, when Chevron decided to operate in a distant village of Sylhet, Bangladesh, on upon finding a new gas field, they take initiations to build a highway both for their production purpose and opened it for the use of all sorts of local people. It helped other farmers and local businessmen to bolster their communication and improve financially.

Lastly, taking care of the environment is almost mandatory for any corporation, not just to maintain compliance, but to save our mother nature. Many of the corporations these days have to use chemicals in their production process that are deadly for the environment. By law, they may maintain a certain level of toxicity they can emit to the open air or water, but it is their sole responsibility to ensure that amount is way below the allowed amount, in fact, as low as close to zero.

It is true, for a company to operate in a certain locality takes a lots of cost and financial problems, which they may like to overcome by putting their top priority towards benefit and moneymaking. But they should never forget their responsibilities towards mother-nature and the people living in it, as ultimately, in a damaged world where there will be no one safe and living healthily, who will be there customer?