The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company-

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument must answer a number of questions for it to be reasonable. The increase in the percentage of positive reviews about Super Screen movies might have been due to the fact that the total number of reviews is lesser compared to the previous year since the number of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies decreased in the past year. The movies might have received postive reviews by the critics, but audience might have given it negative reviews, and so this might have resulted in the decrease in the number of viewers. The company might have faced some criticism in the past year which might have led the people to boycott the movies produced by it; hence, the number of viewers might have dropped as a result.

First, the number of people who watched the movies produced by Super Screen has decreased in the past year. So, the total number of reviews received by the movie is lesser. This might explain the higher percentage of positive reviews. For example, if 5000 people viewed the Super Screen-produced movies in the past year, and 10,000 people the year before that, and the movies received 1000 positive reviews in both the cases, then the percentage of positive reviews in higher for the past year (1000/5000*100% = 20%) than the year before that (1000/10,000*100% = 10%) even though the number of positive reviews is the same. So, the argument must include the number of positive reviews received.

Second, the movies might have been enjoyed by the critics, but not by the audience. The movies which are nominated for the Oscars usually fall into this category. This might have resulted in the decrease in the number of viewers of Super Screen-produced movies in the past year. So, the argument must specify the average ratings given by the critics and the audience, as well as the total number of ratings (since higher average ratings might also be due to the decrease in the number of viewers; this is explained in the second paragraph).

Finally, Super Screen Production Company might have faced some criticism in the past year. It might have been involved in a scandal. This might have led to decrease in the number of viewers of the movies produced by Super Screen Production Company. For instance, the production company led by Harvey Weinstein, the infamous producer who was recently exposed for multiple sexual assault allegations, had known about his activities, but did nothing to stop it. So, in a way it harboured him. In the future, if the company produces a film, people might not be willing to watch the film, even though the film might not be associated with Weinstein. This might lead to empty theaters.

In conclusion, increased advertising does not help in any of the previous scenarios.