The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

No human being in this planet is perfect. Everybody makes mistakes. The important thing is to learn from one’s mistakes. That is what makes one not to repeat the same mistake again, and ultimately be better than their previous selves. The best way to teach, in my opinion, is to criticize the negative actions that one makes, and praise the positive ones. According to me, criticizing negative actions is more important than praising positive ones.

One cannot be a better person if they don’t know that their actions affect others in a negative way. Only if that is pointed out, they can understand their mistakes and not repeat it in the future. For instance, a singer performing in a foreign country may think that it might be good if they wore that country’s traditional clothes. But, the people of that country might find that as cultural appropriation, and be offended by it. If this is not pointed out to the singer, then they might wear the same type of outfit when they’re performing in that country the next time. For the singer to not repeat this mistake again, this action must be criticized.

If one is only praised for their positive actions and not punished or criticized for their negative ones, then they might think that they can do whatever they want, and not be affected by it. Take for example, a Youtube star named Logan Paul. He was one of the fastest growing Youtube channels in the world, gaining around 1.2 million subscribers a month. His fan base is predominantly children of the age 9 to 13. He has performed many distasteful actions, like pretending to getting shot in front of his young, impressionable audience, behaving rudely to people in the street, and disrespecting the people of Japan and their culture when he visited the country. People have criticized him for these actions, but Youtube didn’t. The most infamous one is that he filmed a dead body in a suicide forest on his recent trip to Japan. This insensitive action sparked massive outrage and a plethora of people condemning his action, which finally led to him deleting the video, and issuing an apology. He said that his intent was to educate people about suicide and suicide prevention, but his actions didn’t convey this message. The next video which he posted was about suicide prevention, and it got postive reviews from the internet community. So , it seems like he learnt from his mistakes, which made him a better person.

To be a better person, one has to learn from their mistakes. To facillitate this, their mistakes has to be pointed out first. Hence, praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is not the best way to teach. The negative actions of a person has to be criticized.