“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A person has a better chance to be successful (good position economically, more happier) in life if they enjoy doing what they like. A student would be more interested in the subjects that he/she enjoys learning about. It would not be beneficial for a student to learn about something in which they have absolutely no interest, unless it is a basic necessity for the area in which the student is interested in. So, a student should be able to choose their own curriculum.

Suppose in a nation, the curriculum till college is same for all of its students. Lets say that the curriculum focusses heavily on math and science and art is ignored. This is not useful for a student who is interested in art and wishes to have a carreer in art. So, the number of people pursuing art as an carrer might be very low for that country. The opportunities for artists might also be very low. So, parents might compel their children who're interested in art, to focus on math and science. These students might not be able to perform well because of the lack of interest in math and science. Hence, their future career in math and science might be bleak. Instead, if they focussed on art, they might have had an excellent career as an artist. Hence, having the same national curriculum is highly disadvantageous in this situation.

In contrast to this, if the nation wide curriculum is well developed such that all the fields are focussed more or less equally, then the students can have a taste of all the different fields, and might find the ones in which they are deeply interested. This might lead the students to find new, interesting fields in which they previously thought they had no interest. This might lead to more opportunities for the students. Hence, in this scenario, having the same curriculum for the whole country might be advantageous.

However, in my opinion, nation-wide curriculum is more disadvantageous than it is advantageous. The primary reason for this belief is that it is very difficult and highly unlikely for a nation to have a great nation-wide curriculum. This makes the scenario discussed in paragraph two more likely to happen than that in paragraph three. Hence, it might discourage students to follow their heart.

In conclusion, having a nation-wide curriculum would most likely be disadvantageous; a student should be able to decide their own curriculum.