"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented cites that the super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget to reach the public through advertising. However, the argument stands invalid because of a few questions that are left unanswered by the author.

Primarily, the dependence on the marketing team's report is vague. The statistical data presents that a fewer people attended Super Screen produced in the previous year. The question arises, how many movies did the super screen produce the previous year. If lesser number of movies were produced as compared to any other year of Super Screen's business, the turn out of people would obviously be lesser.

The author has also not mentioned the genre of the production. If it is targeting the children or adults. This would raise a big question on the report as when a particular segment is targeted the turn out is expected to be lower as compared to a family production. . The author has blamed it on the lack of awareness among the public, that they fail to recognize the good quality movies that are available.

Another question that arises on analyzing the argument is the quality of the movie produced. It may be the case that previous year 3 average movies were produced but this year one exceptional movie was released. This would automatically increase the positive reviews as cited by the author. The author has, although, not mentioned the necessary details of the same

Adding to the list, the next unanswered question that surfaces is if it is the marketing departments fault that the sales were lesser. Perhaps, the targeted segment comprised of lesser prospective viewers. It could also be the case that the movie that released was not appealing enough to the mass. This question targets the main claim of the argument directed at the marketing division of Super Screen.

Therefore, the author must answer the above raised questions in order to vouch a recommendation for the argument that is cited otherwise, this argument is rendered invalid.