"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability. "

It may be the case that internet firm's advertising strategies have led to the increase in sales for Furniture Depot, but the argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions.

The argument assumes that the increase in Furniture Depot's sales is applicable to all business out there. Just because the sale of Furniture Depot increase, it doesn't ensure that the sales of other business that advertise with the internet increases too. The argument doesn't say anything about the demographics of where Furniture Depot is situated. It may be the case, Furniture Depot is situated where the majority of the population is tech-savvy and thus leading to a successful internet advertising strategy. Other business might lie in smaller, rustic towns, where the connectivity is not the best and where the population is more old-fashioned.

The argument points out that the advertising strategy led to 10% increase in last year's totals. This fact doesn't necessarily have to indicate an increase in profitability. Any business might have a regular amount of growth each year, without an increase in profitability. For example - an ice-cream truck might sell cones at 5$ a cone with a 1$ profit, and sell 20000 cones a year. It may use the internet company's advertising strategy to boost up sales to 22K cones a year, at the same 1$ dollar profit. As indicated by the figures, this increases sales by 10%, but does not increase the profitability.

The argument throws no light on whether Furniture Depot used any other form of advertising strategy in the past year. It may be the case that Furniture Depot used a number of other advertising strategies such as a social media presence, banners at schools, stalls at fairs etc. which eventually lead to an increase in sales.