The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the application concludes that establishing a jazz club in Monroe is highly profitable. He comes to this conclusion based on unavailability of jazz club in local area, favor of people to last summer jazz festival and radio program as well as a nation wide survey showing the average money spent by a jazz fan. The writer's assertion might be true, but following three explanations must be substantiated in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the jazz club to be established in Monroe will be better than that located at nearest at present and people favor going to the new club than the farther one. It is possible that the nearest jazz club has best sound equipments that cannot be comparable to others and people continue to go to same club despite being away. Also, the club has been sponsored by various drink manufactures so the cost of drink is cheap as well as they provide more complementary drinks so people are more attracted by that club. So, the customers of that club cannot be attracted by new clubs and cannot compete with it. If any of these cases are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the writer assumes that people are equally enthusiastic over daily jazz programs as they are to annual jazz festival and weekly radio program. It might be possible that the last summer jazz festival was a huge success because it was once in a blue moon and people celebrated it so highly which may not be the case if jazz programs are conducted every night in the local club. The success of the festival might also account for reputed and virtuoso musicicans performing the programs who are far better than the daily performers to be employed in the jazz club. Moreover, people in Monroe prefer listening jazz music in homes rather then going in a club just for music so it might not be as famous among people as the weekly radio program 'Jazz Nightly'. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is signficantly hindered.

Finally, the author assumes that the nation wide survey is an indicative of Monroe too. Perhaps the large average amount of money spent by jazz fan be due to high spending by affulent peple of other debonair and wealthy cities of the nation. People of Monroe normally belong to middle-class family and are not able to spend such a huge amount leading to less sales and profit in the local jazz club to be established. If this is the true case, then the persuasiveness of the argument is weakened.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three explanations (perhaps based on scientific study approach), then the viability of the argument can be fully evaluated.