Given that the number of people in our country with some form of arthritis is expected to rise from 40 million to 60 million over the next twenty years, pharmaceutical companies that produce drugs for the treatment of arthritis should be very profitable. Many analysts believe that in ten years Becton Pharmaceuticals, which makes Xenon, the best-selling drug treatment for arthritis, will be the most profitable pharmaceutical company. But the patent on Xenon expires in three years, and other companies will then be able to produce a cheaper version of the drug. Thus, it is more likely that in ten years the most profitable pharmaceutical company will be Perkins Pharmaceuticals, maker of a new drug called Xylan, which clinical studies show is preferred over Xenon by seven out of ten patients suffering from the most extreme cases of arthritis.

As per the business section of some newspaper, it is believed that arthritis patients is expected to rise over next twenty years and most analysts believe that Becton Pharmaceuticals, maker of Xenon drug, will be the most profitable company. However, due to patent expiry of Xenon in next 3 years, the Perkings Pharmaceuticals, maker of new drug called Xylan, will be most profitable. From first glance by reading the argument, it is most likely to seem valid argument. However, this argument has many flaws and false assumptions which can make the author's conclusion an invalid one.

First of all, there is no data which supports that on what basis the people who are suffering from arthritis will rise from 40 million to 60 million over the next twenty years. During the twenty years span, the population growth can also rise. If population growth is more than the arthritis patients then this argument holds no water. In the same period, new pharmaceutical companies can be built and so there is no guarantee that even number of arthritis people will rise, pharmaceutical companies will make profit. As more companies present, there will be more competition in the market and more option available for the patients.

Secondly, argument explains that Becton Pharmaceuticals, which makes Xenon, will be more profitable company. This argument is refuted in the next sentence itself. If patent on Xenon expires in three years, then other company will be able to produce cheaper version of the drug. This argument is predicting about the future scenario. We cannot be comment if other companies have resource to produce the cheaper version of the drug or not. Also, we cannot comment about the future without proper statistics in our hand.

Thirdly, the last but not the least, the most profitable pharmaceutical company will be Perkins Pharmaceuticals, make of a new drug called Xylan, which will be more preferred over Xenon. If before 10 years, some other pharmaceutical company will make the cheaper and preferred drug than Xylan and Xenon, then this argument doomed to fail. Even if Xylan will be more preferred over Xenon, there is no comparison of cost between two drugs. Also, there is no comparison of effectiveness of the new drug over old drug.

As there are many conspicuous logical flaws in the argument, the conclusion derived from this argument is erroneous. There are various parameters, like no cost and effective data comparison of two drugs, which are not being measured in the argument and that can lead to the false conclusion. Also, most of the conclusion was derived by forecasting the data which cannot be guaranteed that it will be true. If author really needs to make a valid conclusion, then he/she needs to provide more concrete evidence to support the idea rather than predicting about the future data and side-stepping the important assumptions and external factors.