Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for

students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect

that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored

students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first

year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this

figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that

they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and

universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide

whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The memo argues that implementation of honor code to mitigate the amount of cheating by students to the lowest point should be ubiquitous among all schools. To endorse this thesis, three postulations have been proposed. 1) The predilection of students to cheat during the tests has been alleviated. 2) It is a kind of reliable evaluation for administrators and instructors to praise or censure the students who are more partial to cheat. 3) The susceptibility of carrying out cheat in ambiances subsuming this approach is minimal. Close scrutiny each of these facts, divulges none of them sound plausible.

A threshold problem with the statement involves reduction in the penchant of students after arrival of the honor code. In contrast, the writer underestimates the predominance of other elements in this fall. For instance, the spot in which the exams are hold may be equipped with cutting-edge and elaborated inspection tools and devices detecting and lodging each irregular movement of students during the test, therefore, this may deter students from cheating. To delineate, the role of diversified and sundry physical properties of academic environment and amenities to better and more severe inspection and surveillance cannot be abstruse for anyone. Furthermore, incrementing the level of knowledge of teacher to impart to the students and to contribute them to become more connoisseur and needed persons who do not require any cheating to elevate their scores are also remarkable.

Even assuming that the subsistence of only 30 cases to affirm the accuracy of this method cannot be tenable. Going into the depth, only when a plethora of items and data for any experiments are accumulated, can it be anticipated that the novel method can leave positive and privileges influences for other similar cases as well. Thus, based on this restrict information, it does not seem coherent to reach a conclusion that the efficiency of the honor code technique can be utilized for other academic places. Accordingly, who could deny the necessity of extending the case study to approve the yield and authenticity of honor code for other schools during long period of time?

Nor does the mere fact that extenuating the number of students inclined toward cheating can be determined as an effective reason and strategy to pursue the honor code approach. As a matter of the fact, the scrivener ignores the significance of total students studying during the three years. Since, the ambiguous number of students in executing during this analysis may lead the researcher to an adverse and detrimental repercussions remaining a myriad of negative and pitfalls both for students and for the teachers. In conclusion, the more the effective and vigorous parameters are transparent, the less the prevalence of blemishes and errors in adopting or repulsing this strategy will be observed. Rarely do a number of students remain constant during three years and it is one of alerting factor to opt for this method.

In sum the argument is logically flawed and therefore indefensible as it stands. To bolster the hypothesis, the author must insert more diverse and wide-range of cases beyond 30 items to aver the validation of the honor code technique. A well as, the number of students serves as a main culprit in rejecting or embracing this approach to be disseminated among other academic areas. Ultimately, the existence of wee-equipped and advanced technology to monitor the treatment of pupils during the exams cannot be eradicated.