Highway safety

13. In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In given argument author wants to says that in Prunty country number of road accidents are getting increases as compare to butler country. And to reduce that they should work on their road infrastructure as of in butler country. author has given some explanation to support his arguments but it seems to be null or void.

In an attempt to improve highway safety, prunty country last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all country highways. but author is saying that this efforts has failed, the number of accidents has not decreased based on report given by highway patrol. Generally accidents happens because of driver's exceed speed limit or not following signals or their may be mistake of pedestrian who was crossing the road. due to which also accident happens . however, lower speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour helps driver to control the vehicle if any accident happens.

author is saying that prunty county should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that butler county completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. however, if people doesn't wants to follow the rules and signals what is use of increasing the lane width, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersection.

Today, major butler county roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in butler county this past year than there were five years ago. author also did not mentioned the analysis and comparison of both countries included the density of vehicles on highways and population of country. Furthermore, it is possible that population of prunty country is more than the butler country as well as density of vehicles is also more than the butler country so the chances of accident is also little bit more in the prunty country. also there are many factors which are responsible for road accidents, like whether condition, environment, place and time. so author couldn't compare the number of accidents of both countries.

Befor taking any decision author needs to do the proper analysis of both the countries as well as drivers of countries who does not follows the rule should get proper punishment which will help to reduce accidents.