Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment.

Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing

(helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate

that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes that according to statistics, people who participate in roller-skating should invest in premium-quality protection materials and better light-reflecting materials as it reduces the probability of being fatally injured in an accident. The author substantiates his position by quoting that according to statistics done by the healthcare, 75% of the highly injured roller skaters, who go to emergency room after facing an accident, are not wearing protective materials like helmets, knee pads, etc or light-reflecting materials like clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark, etc. The author of the argument

although presented little evidence, still the argument is flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions and the following unstated assumptions should be considered before evaluating the argument.

To begin, the author of the argument states out of blokes going to emergency room to get their roller skater accidents treated, 75 percent of the seriously injured rollers skaters do not have good protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) and naively assumes

lack of protective clothing is the reason for the cause of the tragedy. Perhaps, it may be the case that the automobile drivers in

the area are indifferent towards the traffic rules and keep on violating traffic rules. It can also be the case that implementation of traffic rules is not stringent and people ride without following traffic rules. Or there might be a chance that even if the roller skaters wear protective clothing, it may not decrease the fatality of accident as the automobile drivers drive very fast as the region has no speed limit. Therefore, without considering all the above assumptions, the argument

just becomes water under bridge.

Moreover, the author also attributes the severity of accidents to lack of light reflective equipment on skater rollers and claims that wearing light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.) would prevent the severity of the accident. What if, most of the roller skaters who go to emergency room for treatment, are getting injured in broad daylight? In such even cases, even if one uses many light-reflecting materials it will be of hardly any use. It can also be the situation where most of the accidents for skater rollers happen due to the callousness of the drivers but not skater rollers. It can also be the case, that most of the people living in that region hardly follow traffic rules due to lack of social knowledge and basic education. If any of the above assumptions is proven true, the argument will be weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is ripe with several unstated assumptions and lack of solid proof to back the author's claims. If the author is able to provide more evidence, possibly in a systematic manner and consider and answer all the above-stated assumptions, it would be possible to correctly evaluate if using protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.) actually reduces the fatality of

the accidents.