Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

The article proposes that high quality protective gear and equipment would mitigate the number of severely injured accidents among roller skaters. However, diligent analysis of the argument shows that the opinion stated is unreasonable and flawed with multifold assumptions and gives raise to certain questions regarding statistical data and logical reasoning which would immensely undermine the belief. In order to be more convincing, the writer should have added adequate facts and data.

According to the author of the article, 75 percent of the skaters who got injured had not worn any protective guards for skating. The data mentioned in terms of percentage does not give any firm support without presenting the actual number of emergency cases and the number of accidents caused without any safety guards. 75 percent for a total number of 5000 would be considered as a serious issue but 3 among 4 constitutes the same proportion which is not a great number to prove that the injury is solely because of the lack of reflective and protective gear. Had statistical data been provided, that would have supported the argument profoundly.

Secondly, the article did not provide the reason for the accidents caused in the streets and parking lots, and whether did the accidents happened in the day or night. Perhaps, there could be a pothole in the centre of street which could have been invisible in the night and that caused the mishap. The 75% of the patients might be new to roller skating so they might have injured. The severity of injury in the remaining 25 percent is not mentioned. There is no investigation on how did the remain skaters who are well equipped got injuries. This obstructive co-relation does not make sense and undermines the credibility of the argument.

Finally, the author’s school of thought is to encourage roller skaters to use protective gears and reflective equipments in order to stay safe from accidents. Nevertheless, this might increase the number of accidents as the roller skaters with much belief that they are safe can perform risky stunts and might go fast which could lead to terrible accidents. Moreover, for those new people who wears protective clothing recently, it could be uncomfortable and even this could disturb their well balanced skating and might lead to severe injuries.

To recapitulate, the writer who penned this opinion has overlooked certain significant elements of a persuasive argument such as logical depiction, statistical data and unification of facts which made this argument a fallacy. Without firm evidence to endorse that lack of safety guard items caused the severe injuries and this would attenuate if high quality protective gear and reflective equipments are used and with several other flaws, this argument is untenable. Any answers to the questions proposed would greatly bolster the argument to an extent. Otherwise, the argument is not appealing to be incorporated by the roller skaters.