The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The personal director has proposed a recommendation for the president of Acme Publishing company regarding the speed reading course offered by Easy Read and speaks about the benefits of the program and at the end insists the chief of Acme let its employees take up the course. This argument seems persuasive at the first glance, notwithstanding, diligent analysis of this opinion has shown that the proposal given is unreasonable and flawed with multifold assumptions and gives rise to certain questions that would immensely undermine the belief. To be seemed convincing the author must have reinforced his school of thought with adequate facts and data.

First and foremost, the presented piece of suggestion has given an analogy of Acme with other companies. It is stated that the peer organizations that made their workers take up the Easy Read curriculum have ameliorated their efficiency. But, there is no reference regarding the nature of the job of other companies in comparison with Acme. Two examples are considered in the argument, but there is a chance that the two of them might be performing exceptionally well and they have other talents also, thus even without this proficient reading exercise, they would have secured their current positions. Apart from these two instances, there is no evidence on how the course exactly imparted expertise among the laborers as a whole.

Secondly, one of the threshold limitations represented in the advice is that the acceleration in reading would be conducive to ingest more information. However, the writer missed seeing the nuance between reading and interpretation. Skimming without keeping the mind in the reading material will not instill the pieces of information. Perfunctory reading will not provide any benefit in nurturing proficiency. Along with swift reading, a person should be able to unify the concentration at the same phase to use the details. Any depiction of how the speed reading course would be benefitting the employees and the employer would have upheld the argument to an unquestionable degree.

Finally, the cost of the course per employee is given and alluded to the benefits that other companies enjoyed at a comparatively smaller price. Nevertheless, there is no clarity on whether the amount is affordable for the organization. If the salary of the staff is less than $500, then it would be painstaking to spend a huge amount on an employee for unforeseen benefits. If there are a myriad number of employees, then the cost would be onerous for the corporation. The lack of statistical data undermines the effectiveness of this opinion.

To recapitulate the notion, the author of this piece of recommendation has overlooked certain significant elements such as logical depiction, statistical evidence, unification of facts, hence making the argument a fallacy. Without any firm proof to endorse the idea of incorporating an easy reader course for the staff and the dearth of clarity between reading and interpretation and with several other flaws, any relevant answers to the questions proposed would strengthen the argument to an extent. Otherwise, this recommendation is not appealing to be used by Acme company to improve the proficiency of its employees by improving the celerity of their reading.