While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week

The department of education of the state of Antra has proposed that decreasing the homework given for a week would help in improving the grades of the students and presented an analogy between two other schools to buttress the claim. However, diligent analysis of this opinion has shown that the recommendation given here is flawed and unreasonable with multifold assumptions and gives rise to questions that would immensely undermine the credibility of the stated opinion. In order to be seemed convincing, the author should have given adequate facts and data to reinforce the assertion.

First and foremost, the author of the piece of information has presented a comparison survey between the lecturers of Sanlee and Marlee, provided that Sanlee’s 86 percent of the teachers have reported converging to giving less homework in a week. Nevertheless, the differentiation is done based on percentage and there is no numerical base on which the percentage is calculated. Perhaps, 86% of Sanlee’s teachers comprise only 7 or 8 teachers as the survey could have taken among 10 teachers. Meanwhile, in Marlee, the number of instructors considered for research might be 100 and 25% of them would be around 25 educators. Without properly numbered data, these percentages submitted would not uphold the argument to an unquestionable degree.

Secondly, one of the threshold limits of the statement is, that the children’s overall grades in Marlee are high as well as only scant students are repeating the same class when compared with Sanlee. Notwithstanding this, the head of the education department failed to depict the environment of the two schools. There are myriad factors that would make students procure good grades in academics like, the infrastructure of the schools might be splendid, the quality of tutors edifying kids might be high, the curriculum followed by the school might have laid a strong foundation for the subjects maths and science. Without analyzing the other cardinal criteria, the argument is not seemed to be convincing.

Finally, the authority of education has presented its school of thought regarding the implementation of the same policy as Malree’s by reducing the number of homework given in a week. Nonetheless, the suggestion failed to mention certain facts regarding how the teachers of Marlee produce good results in the classes. The teachers of their state would give assignments as classwork instead of giving homework by extending class hours by preferring to monitor the students and helping them solve the problems in the school to clarify the doubts on the spot rather than giving homework.

To recapitulate, the author of the presented proposal has overlooked certain significant elements such as logical depiction, statistical evidence, unification of facts, hence making the argument a fallacy. Without any firm proof to endorse the idea of incorporating the suggestion of reducing the homework and the dearth of clarity on the teaching techniques of Martlee and with several other flaws, any relevant answers for the questions proposed would strengthen the argument to an extent. Otherwise, this recommendation is not appealing to be instilled in Attre to improve the grades of the students, and consequently the argument is untenable.