The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

It is irrefutable that a nation’s growth has relied on numerous factors like the efficiency of the leaders, achievements in arts, advancement in science and technology, etc., However, the most cardinal factor that determines the real growth of a country is the well-being of its people. Only if people are given all the basic needs and people are happy being in the country, then a country is truly progressing on the growth scale. All of the other factors should help in improving the goodness of the people, else their achievements will not The assertion stated here is a contentious issue and needs a scrupulous and cogent analysis and a lucid delineation.

To begin with, a nation even though it is well developed in science and technology, making tremendous progress in the science realm, it is not necessary to be a good place for its individuals to live. For instance, North Korea is a country that is very progressive in terms of research and development. They have done much nuclear research and testing, powerful pieces of equipment to safeguard their country. Inspire of being this powerful in scientific advancement, still, it is not considered as a great nation as North Korean citizens are struggling with poverty, and a myriad of children are suffering from malnutrition and the country is losing many lives due to hunger and penury.

Furthermore, to be a well-developed nation, albeit the country’s economy, scientific development are boosted, there is a huge gap between the average people's income and the income of opulence. India is a great example of this. A recent study says that the chairman of Reliance group of industries Mr. Ambani pays the tax that constitutes 2% of India’s total taxes. There are many industrialists, entrepreneurs are from India, politicians who are rich, the economy is also moving at a faster rate, still, there are many areas in which the average income is below the poverty range thus impeding the growth of the nation.

However, there are few countries which exempt from this. Nevertheless, the people of a country are wealthy, development of science and technology is also significant in making a country powerful. To exemplify this, Saudi Arabia is a country in which the people are prosperous, still, it is not considered a great nation because of the slow progress in science and research. To be a great nation, breakthroughs in science and technology should help people live a prosperous life, and the efficiency of leaders, rulers, and artists are not the main factor but still give a certain contribution to the proficiency of the country.

To put this elucidation in a nutshell, the outline of the claim seems inappreciable at the first glance, but after meticulous dissection of the sentence, it is clear that the true factor to gauge a nation’s development is the betterment of its citizens and any achievements in science, arts or the leader should help ameliorate the welfare of the people in order to become an indicator of a great nation.