Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is unassailable that a true leader with an intellectual, clear vision, is an asset for any government or organization to achieve the intended goals. The affirmation claims that the head in power should pass the power to a new one every five years to ensure the success of the premise. However, if the chief of an enterprise changes every certain year, then along with the leader the company or government’s vision as well as the method of administration, everything would change accordingly. The outline of the statement is a contentious issue and needs scrupulous and cogent analysis as well as lucid delineation.

Admittedly, rejuvenation would lead to a definitive path for success. Nevertheless, for a neophyte leader, if he has taken control, it would take a considerable amount of time to gain experience as the head would be a novice and the exposure would have also been limited. By the time, the chief completely becomes comfortable and ready, the five-year tenure associated with the leadership would have been completed. Moreover, constant change of leaders every fifth year would leave the individuals in the lower hierarchy, bewildered. For instance, when a manager of the company follows certain principles to keep up the spirit of his teammates by giving, a day off after a productive week, team lunches, freedom to express opinions, etc., when supplanted by a new one, the group would be baffled with the morals the new manager follow.

Along with the confounded employees, if the old boss was successful, then there would be no evidence, that the new leader would also become successful. Provided that the new chief lacks a tantamount vision as the previous, then the organization would succumb. The best exemplification for this would be Steve Jobs. Steve when fired from the CEO post of Apple Inc., the products of apple lost popularity in the market and the management started to deteriorate. Eventually, Steve was asked to retake his previous position, then the rest is history.

However, it is not like if a victorious leader steps down, the authority capitulates. When a proficient chairperson leaves the position, the torch of success can be given to another individual with the same caliber and mindset as the precedent. For example, the ex-CEO of Google, Larry Page stepped down deliberately to focus his heed on his parent company and gave Sundar Pitchai his place as their vision for the company is identical, and believed him that he would administer his company Google in the same way. Therefore, if an expertise leader steps down, he could pass the authorization to an experienced new leader.

To put the enunciation in a nutshell, a leader doesn't need to yield the position after five years tenure even though being efficient, then the heads would lose the enthusiasm and spirit to work actively and thus the growth of the government or any enterprise would be obviated.