Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7 000 years ago and within 3 000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans general

According to the author, extinction of large mammels in Kaliko islands was due to excessive hunting by humans. The author gives several evidence to support this claim. Some fish bones were found by the archeologists in several sites in Kaliko islands. Author assumes that if humans hunted fish they must have hunted mammels also. Several tools such as rock knives were also found there. It is assumed that these tools were for hunting. Also the timing betweem arrival of humans and extinction of mammels is also suspicious to many. The author has made many unwarrented assumptions to reach this conclusion. In the followng paragraphs these conclusions will be studied and understood and their effectiveness will be understood.

Author unfairly assumes that people who eat fishes must also eat mammels. Author does not take into account the difference in style of hunting of fishs and large mammels. Maybe these humans prefered fishes more than mammels. Also hunting large mammels is much more dangerous than fishing. Perhaps these early setllers found fishing easier therefore a more charming source of food. Also mammels alive are can be very useful to humans. For example, cows give milk, which people can use, dogs provide companionship and protection which humans may like, and many more things. If any of the above is true than the assumption made by the author does not hold true, hence his claim will be false.

Another thing the author assumes is that the tools found by the archeologists were for hunting. There are several other uses of tools, such as farming, creating fire, cutting trees for woods, etc. The author made the mistake of not taking these things into account. Maybe these tools had some other purpose such as creating machineries, vehicles, houses, roads, etc. Maybe these tools were for their protection from other humans and not for hunting. Perhaps humans used these tools to gut the fishes or for something else entirely. If any of the above scenarios are true then authors assumption will once again become invalid and so will his claim.

Finally the author assumes that humans used to fish based on the remains of the fishes found. Did he, for once, think that maybe these remains were not from fishing but from something else. Maybe their used to be a river in those areas which later dried up due to less rain or more sun. Maybe fishes living in these water bodies could not move to a safer place and died due to the lack of water. This would explain their remains in some areas of Kaliko. Maybe the mammels used to eat fishes. Perhaps they used to store fishes in their habitats. This would also explain the remains found by the archeologists. These scenarios would again make the assumption made by the author false and weaken his main conclusion.

Hence from the above points it is clear that the assumption made by the author is false. Maybe if some more evidences are provided then we could evaluate the situation furthor. But right now we do not have enough to support the authors claim that humans were responsible for the extinction of large mammels.