In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Fresh ideas or experience, which is more important? The prompt claims that important contributions in any field are more likely to be made by a beginner than an expert. I mostly disagree with this statement as new ideas and experience are equally important for the success of a field. To support my view, I will provide three reasons.

Firstly, a person becomes an expert from their experiences. Experience is nothing but a collection of mistakes. The expert has made and learned from these mistakes. For example, let's take the field of mathematics. Suppose a novice wants to publish a research paper on a project he has done. He might think that going to many conferences or talking to several publishers might increase his chances of getting his thesis published. An expert knows that this is not the case. All the conferences are not worth the money or time they demand. She knows which publisher has more reputation and better reach. Even if the novice's paper had better ideas but those ideas may not contribute to the field because they did not reach the correct audience. Hence, here expert's experience was more helpful for the field than the beginner's ideas.

Secondly. while it is true that new and innovative ideas are important. Due to working in the same field for so many years, the experienced experts might have some defined work structure which they might be reluctant to change. On the other hand, the novice may want to try something new, sometimes these new things might work out better. But, it is also true that these unused and untested ideas might cause undue harm. Because of the better understanding of the field, and because of all their past blunder the experts may understand the risks and rewards of adopting a new idea better than the novice can. For example, to increase creativity in kids, a new teacher may tell them to draw, sing, or dance in any way they want. But some kids might misuse this tactic and may disrupt the entire class, by intentionally singing or dancing loudly. Whereas, if the kids were given some directions, or if some rules were enforced, they might have been doing their work silently and properly.

Lastly, a novice can learn so much from the experts in their field. All the great CEOs, surgeons, pilots, scientists, were once someone's student. They all must have had a mentor to guide them and teach them. Thus, even if the students turn out to be more successful than their mentors, it was because students learned from them. For example, a fresh out of college software developer will need a guide to help him navigate the corporate world. He may need someone to teach him how to manage a team or a project. This novice may later give some brilliant ideas, but he would not have thought of those ideas if he was not aware of the old ones. Thus the mentorship was also important for his and his field's success.

In conclusion, both novice and experts are important for the progress of the field. The novice because of their freshness, out-of-the-box thinking, and experts for their experience.