Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's main conclusion is that even though inoculations against cow flu are important but they cannot be routinely administered. The reason behind this conclusion is that there is a small chance of this inoculation is lethal to some people. Before accepting this conclusion some evidence is needed for a better evaluation of this argument.

Firstly how does the author know that this inoculation is lethal? Is there any study done by a reputed source? The study if is it done, what is the validity of the study? What was the data size? How was it tested? Or has the author assumed this without any proper source to back this assumption? Research needs to be done only for cow flu inoculations with a varied data size to reach any conclusion. Without this evidence author's, conclusion cannot be trusted and therefore cannot be implemented.

After the above evidence is provided another study needs to be done to find the reason behind the deaths, if any, to determine the validity of the argument. Maybe the deaths are caused by something else. For example, maybe the water resources of the area from which the data is collected are unhygienic. Maybe the test subjects have some underlying disease they were not aware of. Thus a proper report should be created about the causes for these deaths, and if the deaths are related to the inoculations or not. Without this evidence, we cannot accept the main conclusion as true.

Lastly, is the author saying that all the inoculations, in general, can be lethal sometimes, or is he only talking about cow flu? If the former is true, how can the author compare all the inoculations and all the diseases with each other? Cow flu is different than other diseases, thus the medicines used for cow flu cannot be compared to other inoculations. Some evidence is needed regarding the lethality of cow flu inoculation without taking other inoculations into account.

Hence the author's argument as it stands is not valid. Some evidence is needed.