All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Employees are a backbone of a company. If they are satisfied, taken care of, and understood, they will be loyal to the company and will work hard to achieve its goals. Prompt suggests that companies should spend more time listening to their employees for better efficiency. If they do so they might not need to waste their time on consultants. I mostly agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

Employees working in a company have a better understanding of its inner working than some external consultants. They may know more about how the company functions and how it can operate better, having worked there. An external consultant might group all the organizations and may only provide a generalized view. But not every company is the same, and its employees know this better than those consultants. Maybe what works for everyone else might not work for a particular company due to reasons such as the type of people they hire, their location, or their targeted buyers. Therefore in such cases listening to the employees will be more beneficial to the company.

Furthermore, if a company does nothing for its people like unpaid overtime, harassment in the workplace, no paternity or maternity leaves, surely the employees will feel resentful towards them and their efficiency would reduce. As such even the consultant might say the company's first step should be creating a better working environment for its people rather than hiring consultants. Therefore, once again listening to their employees and solving their problems might help the company.

But the above points do not in any way make the consultants obsolete. Consultants have more experience in consulting. They can help in providing an outside perspective, therefore can give unbiased suggestions which can help them. Having helped other companies they know about other companies' condition, their work culture, etc. Therefore they also know which company is doing better and why it is doing better. Hence, using this data can help other go in the right direction.

From the above point, it is clear that it is a complex issue with no simple answer. While consultants have useful insights to give and are therefore irreplaceable, employees are also an important part of a company whose views are also important for any organization's growth.