Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that humans are responsible for the decline of most of the large mammals species in Kaliko Island. Stated in this way, the author failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument needs to be evaluated. To justify this argument, the author reasons that humans have killed the large mammals species in order to get the food from them. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides a little creditable support to author's conclusion.

First of all, there may be various factors for the extinction of large species in Kaliko Island. Discovery of simple tools like stone knives doesn't assure that humans have killed them. May be early humans have used them for their safety and protection from attack of large mammals or for some other purposes like getting fruits from trees by cutting it through that knife. Moreover, small tools can't be used to kill a large species. Furthermore, there may be some natural disaster which cause the extiction like earthquake or fire in the Island. Thus, if the author had provided some more information about the previous condition of kaliko Island in terms of natural disaster, it could make the argument more convincing.

Seocondly, the author claims after discovery of bones of fishes that humans have killed them and further concludes that they've also killed the mammals. However, there may be the possiblity that other animals who rely on fishes may have hunt them. For example, fish is the favouriate food for wild animals like fox. Thus, without much information about the cause of death for fishes, it can't be concluded that humans have destroyed them. Furthermore, catching the fish is an easy task instead of killing a mammal for food. Thus, humans might have killed fishes for their survival but it doesn't clearly signifies that they've also killed mammals due to which they become extinct.

Furthermore, archeologists does give an idea by looking at the evidences. They donot precisely concludes the scenarios based on the evidence. Furthermore, there is a possibility that most of the large species is present in Kaliko Island which archeologist won't be able to find or may be these species have changed their place for survival and moved to some other island. If the author had provided a much more clear evidences about the death of large mammals as well, the argument could make a cogent effect on the claim of the author.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of a reliable survey about the cause of extinction of animals. Finally to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more about the previous disasters occurred in the island. Since the author doesn't mentioned anything about discovery of bones of mammals in the Kaliko Island, it can't effective said that they've extinct. Some more detailed analysis should should be done by archeologist to find their bones so as to assure that they're actually extinct.