An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces A study reports that in nearby East Meria where fish consumption is very high people visit the doctor only once or twice per

In the given memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council, whixh indicates that with the having fish in substantial amount in daily basis will help to prevent from cold which will eventually lower absenteeism. To buttress his/her argument, a study report nearby East Meria has been showned which states that people in that area visit only once or twice per year for the treatment of cold, due to their high consumption of fish. So, they recommended for the daily use of the nutritional supplement to avert from suffering of cold. However, this recommendation can only be evaluated properly if certain quandaries are addressed and explained.

First of all, there are myriad of reasons for the absenteeism of students in school. In other words, there are many students who might be very maverick and indolent regarding their studies so they don't want to attend to school. For example, we all are wary about, one of kind of students who are very lackadaisical and would never do their assignments on time and is only interested in playing games. Those kind of students probably fake being sick and will stay at home. If any of the above point has some merit, than the original argument is enervated.

Secondly, consumption of only one kind of the food that is fish might not be reason of the exiguous amount of people visiting doctor in East Meria. The author prematurely assumes that, with the increase of consumption of the fish there will be no hindrance for attending school and work. Perhaps people of East Meria might be taking care of their diets with some exercise as well and they might have been drinking hot water everyday in order prevent themselves from catching cold. For instance, people might be drinking hot tea and staying warm inside their home and going only at the time of work would probably be the reason for less number of people suffering from cold. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold any water.

Lastly, there might be huge difference in number of population in East Meria and West Meria. People in East Meria might be less in number or they might be immune to cold or have been treating cold with home remedies. This would automatically make, less number of people visiting to doctor. For instance, people of East Meria might not be interested in going hospital for the treatment of cold or else they probably don't want to get resistant with the antibiotics prescribed by doctor.

In conclusion, the argument in the newsletter, as it stands now is flawed due to it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more pellucid information by giving more explanation to the above quandaries than the proposed recommendation on prevention of colds and lower absenteeism would be viable.