An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

The nation of Tagus is suffering a vitamin A deficiency amongst its people. The author writes about how the international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A and how the government of Tagus is trying to promote its citizen to buy the new variety and consume it. The author covered the news but there are few questions which need to be discussed before asserting that this approach of the new type of millet seed would work or not.

As the author said that the new seeds cost a more and the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety but there lies one question, will the farmers plant the new seed honestly? As the farmers might mix the new seeds with regular seed so as to maximize their profit and slowly there might come a time that the plantation of regular seeds might be in the highest proportion as to the new seeds, which maximize the farmers' profit but it fails the goal of the government.

Second question, will the people of the impoverished nation of Tagus buy these new seeds? As stated, it is an impoverished nation and people might not have the money to buy the new type of seeds for a long run. The people of Tagus might buy the new seeds in the beginning and later realize that cost of the new type of seeds is not fitting in their monthly budget so they have no choice but to revert to the regular seeds. Even if the government is strictly controlling the sale of the seeds, the people will resort to actions which will get them the regular seeds.

The crucial question is what the government of Tagus will do to promote the new type of seeds. The government might promote the benefits of the new seeds or also give subsidies for buying and consuming it, but as it is an impoverished nation they'll have to think of the budget required in the process and will revert their promotion if it is getting too expensive to promote and give subsidies to farmers and the citizen of Tagus.

For the programme to be a success the government should ensure the citizen it is not that expensive to fit it into their budget. They should also ensure that the farmers won't unfairly take money for the new seeds while selling the regular seeds, the government should ensure the plantation is only of the new seeds and there is no unfair practice going on. Lastly, they should take the help of international development organization and should request to make new seeds more affordable so that every citizen purchases the new seeds without thinking its price.