The following memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complain

This argument made by the business manager of the television station is valid and the memorandum to increase the weather and local news is a right one. The evidences which makes the argument a correct decision are the following.

The first evidence is in the memorandum's starting few lines, as the late-night program has devoted more time to national news, the complaints from viewers about showing more weather and local news have increased. The news station might be showing the weather and local news at some different time, but at that time the people of the area might be at work or busy to look at the news and late-night news programs are accesible and free time for the local residents.

As the local area wants to be updated about their own city/town, the devotion to only national news is one of the case which is the reason of increased complaints. Also, the weather news is important to the people, as the late-night program is the perfect time for weather so that people are ready to tackle the next day knowing what kind of weather it is going to be. So the lessening of weather news time affects the local population.

Another evidence is the canceling of advertising contracts by local businesses. As it might be the case that the local businesses used to sponser the news station because of the local news which also covered their interests, the local businesses used to know what type of customers they can expect and if the neighbourhood is safe or not. The advertise issued made no sense or connection with the news as it used to make earlier, the lessening of local news time has not at all been a merit for local businesses and hence the cancellation of the advertisement contracts.

Also can be assumed that because of increase in the national news time, the cost for running the news station might have increased which also makes the case of cancellation of the advertisements by the local businesses.

The business manager of the station takes a firm but important stand on increasing the weather and local news time to its former level so that the viewers are more and they avoid losing more advertisement contracts.