The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The argument that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in any field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition is absolutely correct. A leader is the person who takes the team to the path of glory.

Leadership is a really important yet difficult quality to achieve in the modern world where people are running behind success, ready to compete with anybody who's coming in their way. But in the field where collective progress is utmost priority like in sports team, industry, government etc. leadership has a major role.

A leader is an important element of the team who shows the path, encourages the team and helps the people to refocus and concentrate to bounce back from any failure. A leader is not selfish to grab the opportunity for himself and runs away, rather helps the team and indirectly the organisation for which they are working for as a team.

For making a leader, the society should focus on instilling the sense of cooperation, not competition. Competition is where individuals thrive and show their talent, it makes them ahead of the rest of the people and shows what extra they can bring to the table. Whereas cooperation brings out the leader amongst the mass. It tells people that together they can achieve an even better result and thrive along with the cause they are working for. And when a group or team is involved, a leader steps up to guide the team to success.

Where individuals can show their talent in a competition but a failure can set them back but in a team, the teammates and the leader is there to help the individual bounce back faster. Generally seen in sports, a leader is not the person who is the most skillful player, but is the person who can be there and vocally present when the team is going through thick and thin. The sense of cooperation is the basic but the most important factor in leadership. Especially in the government sector where the person leads for the development of the city/town or sometimes the whole country. Sense of cooperation doesn't make the leader to strive for individual glory or any other corruption. They think for the country and for the people who are in one way or another depending on the person who is leading the country along with the government of the country.

Leadership is not a quality which is inborn, it is made and perfected. Times will be there where the leader will have opportunities to look for his/her own good and run away but the preparation from younger age in the sense of cooperation not competition will help to get a better and more responsible leader.