'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station is stated without any proper research and generalizing the opinions by the viewers and the situation of less coverage of weather. There are a lot of evidences hidden which tells the quick but not at all thought out argument in the memorandum.

First evidence is the increase time in the national news, this tells that the station is going mainstream by only focusing on the national news. There might be a case that previously there was a lot of local news covered in the late-night programs which might be a case for the local businesses canceling the advertisement contracts, as there must be a conflict in interest.

Another evidence, that the local businesses canceling the contract might be the increased price of advertising in the news station. As the coverage of national news require more reporters, the increase in advertising contracts might be the case of cancellation of it by local businesses. Also, there might be case that because of national news coverage, the advertisement time must have been reduced which makes the advertise of any local business not to reach the potential customers.

An assumption regarding the weather news might be that, the news station is not at all showing weather and local news at all which might be the case of increased complaints of the viewers. Or the news station might be showing weather news when almost nobody watches the news because of being busy in their jobs, housework etc. The timing of the weather and local news might not be accessible to the viewers, which can be a reason for increased grievances.

Also there can be a reason of uninteresting nature of the national news. As there might be nights where the news might just be plain boring and not at all any profitable to the people of that city (or town). So uninteresting news can reduce the customers and the sponsoring by local businesses.

The business manager should not jump to any conclusion so quickly and should conduct a small survey rather than depending on the complaint calls. A complete research would help to clarify the scenario and would help them to take measures which can again make the news station popular.