An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the given prompt concludes that the government of Tagus should do everything to promote the new type of millet which is rich in Vitamin A. She cites that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet and also, since it is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt it. However, the argument is rife with holes and flaws and to predict whether the recommendation will have the predicted result, the following questions need to be answered.

To begin, are the subsidies paid to farmers enough to grow the new breed of millet? Is the cost entirely covered by the subsidies they get, or do they have to invest anything from their pockets? Are only seeds' cost to be taken into consideration, or will it require other farming tools that will also add up to the cost? Will it be profitable for them? Are they willing grow the new crop? If the answer to any of the above questions is not affirmative, then the recommendation would not have much substance. The author has to get detailed answers to these questions. For example, if a new ploughing machine is required to grow the new crop, and if a farmer does not have it currently then he may have to buy it, which in turn, would not be profitable for the farmer. And if these costs are more than the subsidies that they get, then the farmer would not want to grow this new crop. The author has to collect proper evidence in order to answer these questions.

Furthermore, is the vitamin content of the new breed of millet sufficient to cure the vitamin A deficiency in people? This has to be thoroughly tested by researchers and doctors before making the claim that it will solve the deficiency problem in people. For instance, the crop does not have the required amount of vitamin A, and people will have to eat in larger quantities to solve their deficiency problem, then it does not provide a viable solution. And only if the new breed of millet has sufficient quantities of vitamin A, it will be profitable and the recommendation is likely to get to its predicted result.

Even if the answers to all the above questions are true, are the impoverished people of Tagus financially capable of buying the new breed of millet? What if currently they are impoverished not because the food is deficient in vitamin A, but because they are not in position to buy the appropriate amount of food? If this is the case, then growing the new breed of millet will not help. the government can be successful in efficiently growing the crop, and even assuming that the new breed will also fall into their staple diet. But, if it is costly and people are not able to buy it, then it will do more harm (maybe because they stopped producing the old type of cheaper-millet) than good to the people.

In conclusion, the recommendation can not be efficiently evaluated due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the above questions, like its vitamin content, financial position of people and the farmers, only then can the recommendation can be evaluated to decide whether it will have the desired outcome or not.