An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Doctors are considered one level above other human beings, primarily because they save lives. A doctor like any other professional grows with experience. The prompt suggests that ailing patients should have access to doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients, but I do not entirely agree with this claim for the following three reasons.

To begin, people should not be the ones judging the expertise of a particular doctor. An ailing patient might make an imprudent decision in choosing a doctor. For instance, if an ailing patient has the access to the records of all doctors, then she might invest a lot of time in choosing the right doctor, and this may result in further decline of her health. Also, every individual is different, maybe the patient rejects the 'appropriate' doctor because there was one case of failure in his record. This does not mean that the same thing will happen to her, because different human bodies react differently to drugs. The patient before might have an allergy to the prescribed medicine or maybe had the germ antibodies developed sooner. So if the records are available, patients might wrong decisions because after all they are at least not as experienced as the doctors themselves.

Furthermore, if one doctor is exceedingly good in a particular domain, then each and every patient will go after that doctor. For example, Doctor Sharma. who was the leading lung specialist, during the dramatic pollution increase in Delhi, there were many cases reported to him just because of the reputation of the doctor. This put many other doctors out of business. And, due to these overwhelming cases, he could not treat each and every case and this resulted in many people going without treatment and eventually dying. So if the records are available, such scenarios will increase, which will eventually harm the patients.

Finally, doctors do not get all their expertise just by the reading the books. Books just impart them the required knowledge. When a doctor completes gets his degree, he is not immediately sent to a hospital to treat patients from there on, she has to first work under an experienced doctor and only then is she allowed to practice alone. This might weaken their case of having a bad record inadvertently, or because it depends more on an individual patient. For example, if a doctor who has more than ten years worth of experience and still has a bad record of treating lung patients, then if this past record is available to the future patients, it may benefit them and change their decision in choosing the appropriate doctor. In fact, even the doctor should be responsible enough to realize his domain of expertise and advise the patient to see someone else.

In conclusion, I think while it may not be a bad idea to provide access to these records, it will certainly not provide us with the best results. It would be much advantageous both for the people and the doctors if the current system keeps going.