The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

Music has always been an integral part of people and it plays an important role in their lives. Individuals relate to the music they listen to, and hence, to the musicians. So musicians are made huge stars all around the world. The prompt suggests that the actual assessment of the real talent of the musician can only be done once he/she is dead so that his/her fame does not interfere with the assessment. In my opinion, I do not entirely agree with this suggestion for three reasons.

Firstly, fame can be used as an actual tool to measure the popularity of a musician. Fame, in itself, means that the masses love the person and his work. Moreover, fame makes the person realize about his talent, so then, he can make optimum use of it. For instance, Arijit Singh of India, has recently become a huge star in India and is one of the most loved musicians in the country and, because of his popularity, he gets more and more shows and more work to showcase his talent. Consider another musician, Armaan Malik, who is also considered to be a very talented individual, but he is less popular than what Arijit Singh is, and hence gets lesser opportunities to showcase his talent. Therefore, the real assessment of talent can only to be done if we have substantial data in hand, that is, if the musician has done a considerable amount of work to be compared with his contemporaries.

Furthermore, we should always trust the people for whom the music is being made. If the people like it, it means that the musician is in fact talented since he is giving what the people want. For example, Sonu Nigam is considered one of the most versatile musicians that India has ever seen. All the credit, goes to his fame that just kept on increasing year by year while he is still working in this industry. It is the people because of which the musician is still working and we can not be oblivious to the fact that money follows fame.

Finally, some may argue that fame can not accurately tell you about the real talent of a musician. For instance, Shaan, used to do jazz music in the 1980s, and that point of time people were just not ready to accept that kind of music, so he did not gain popularity at all. But, today when jazz is a popular art, experts claim that Shaan's work is as good as any when compared today. People still listen to his work, and this gives us a lesson that though he was not popular in his times, he is still considered as the person who gave birth to jazz music in India, If we were only measuring a person's talent by the fame which he gets, we might have never known Shaan and his work. We did not get carried away by the little amount of fame that he had gotten in that period, but experts some how found a way around it.

Assessment of talent has never been a trivial task. This issue does not have clear cut arguments because of the reasons mentioned above. However, one should trust the people, and hence consider the fame that a musician gets over his life while assessing his talent, but only to a certain level.