The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the petition, the argument states that the Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. To support their argument, they mention its harmful effects on the sanctuary and on the sales of the community. The argument stands flawed because of the lack of evidence provided and due to the following assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the Smith Corporation will fail in fulfilling their promise of protecting the sanctuary. For example, what if the Corporation has already figured out a way to preserve the sanctuary? What if the Corporation has enjoyed success over the past in such similar projects? The environmental protection group should do proper research and first consult the corporation about their plans and only then come to a conclusion. If this assumption about the corporation's failure proves unwarranted then the argument would not hold water.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that the sales generated by the hotel would not benefit their community. Currently, the sales depend upon the tourists that come to see the birds. But perhaps, the hotel might boost the sale because the tourists that come to visit the sanctuary might stay at the hotel or at least eat something there as most tourists enjoy to do so. If this happens then this will foster sales and bring in more money more from tourism thereby weakening the argument further. It can not be assumed that the tourists will definitely not use the hotel in any way and there has to be proper evidence if this is the premise used to reach the conclusion.

Finally, the argument assumes that even if a very small percentage of land is developed, it will drastically affect the sanctuary. This might not be true as the corporation could have a plan of using the land better than it is used now. For example, the land that the corporation is planning to develop is far from the area where the birds naturally live. In this case, the development of the land would have no effect whatsoever on that sanctuary. It might as well be used to develop some recreational activities for the tourists which would again foster sales and increase profit. Therefore, the argument has to specify exactly what part of land is going to be developed and how will this affect the bird sanctuary. A correlation has to be provided to assume the disastrous consequences of the proposed development.

In conclusion, the argument depends on various assumptions and hence, is flawed. There has to specific evidence provided as mentioned above to efficiently evaluate the argument. The effect on the sales, and the harmful effects of the development on the sanctuary should be properly stated backed up by proper evidence to come to a proper conclusion.