People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Emotion-driven decision making may not work in all scenarios. The "gut-feeling" factor is like the X-factor while making decisions. In general, decisions that are backed by logic usually work better than the ones based on emotions. The prompt suggests that people who support their emotion-based decisions with logic afterwards, are poor decision makers. In my view, I partially agree with the statement for three reasons.

To begin, sometimes a persons emotion takes over his mind. When this happens, she does not think from his brain, he does so from his heart. And, she will always regret this later on. If she is trying to "justify" her emotion-based decision later using logic, it means that she is just trying to prove herself right and maybe she wasn't necessarily right. For example, if a student in school misbehaves in school, an offense like fighting with his friend or maybe being completely ignorant towards his studies and not taking his teacher's instructions severely, then this misconduct has to be dealt in justifiable manner. Here, if the teacher takes him to the principal and they both decide to rusticate or perhaps suspend the child from school, just because it is not the first time they are trying to get the child into control and their emotion has taken over their mind, they make this emotion-based decision. Now, when they have to explain this decision to his parents, they might be able to say that his misconduct had reached an appropriate level, and further warnings can not be given. But, this logic is going to be weak because right from the start, it was a poor decision. They won't accept their mistake, and as they have the sole authority they will eventually be able to "justify" their decision.

Furthermore, history has given us examples that very well support the prompt's suggestion. There have been titans who haven't allowed their emotions to take over while making decisions and are still regarded as the best decision makers in the world. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi who fought against the British Raj in India in the 20th century, based all of his fight on non-violence principles. There were times when his family was tortured his brothers were sent to jail and his relatives were killed. Yet he did not opt for violence and always advised the nation against it. If he had taken the obvious "emotion-based" decision then there might have been more killings which is exactly what he didn't want. He would not have been able to justify his decision based on logic because people who are dead are dead and can not come back.

Finally, there can be situations when the "gut-feeling" factor can prove to be beneficial. For example, in stock market, a person does not have enough time to take all decisions based on logic. He simply does not have enough time to analyze every stock and every decision with logic. Suppose he buys the Reliance Industries stock at $50 based on his emotions and "gut-feeling", and afterwards if the price rises then he can sell it and justify his decision with the appropriate logic. Here it is not possible to consider everything before buying. It depends on your sixth sense, is what people say, to earn in stock market. In this case, people can not considered as poor decision makers.

In conclusion, people who give logic to support their previous emotion-based decisions are indeed poor decision makers in most cases. Considering examples above, like Mahatma Gandhi's decision of non-violence and the principal-student-rustication scenario, decisions should be appropriately thought of and given logic to, before applying.