The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The author states that the illegal immigrants entering a country should be returned to their country of origin as they pose a threat to the country's economy and national identity. The author cites that autonomy of any country is based on the strength of his borders. However, the argument is rife with holes and flaws because of several unwarranted assumption which need to be examined before reaching a proper conclusion.

To begin, the author assumes that a greater number of immigrants means loss of identity of the nation. The identity of a nation might not change if the number of immigrants coming into the nation, be it legal or illegal, increase. For instance, what exactly does the author mean by identity? Does it only pertain to people's skin color being white and black? If this is the case, then it may not apply to all countries as people in asian countries all have the same skin color- brown. And if, people from one country migrate from one country to another, even if illegally, would go unnoticed and this would not harm the identity of the nation. So the process would be very difficult for the government of the nation and it would not be beneficial to return them to their country.

Furthermore, the author assumes that illegal immigrants directly harm the economy of the nation. This may not always be true. For example, What if the immigrants come into the country and look for jobs? Now these jobs would benefit the nation as they are serving the country in form of their jobs. They could perhaps work in a sector where there is a dearth of workers and this would mean benefits for the nation. The assumption that these immigrants would only harm the nation would do more harm than good to the nation. The author has to produce specific evidence that the count of these immigrants would directly harm the economy of the nation.

Even if all the above assumptions are taken care of, the author also assumes that returning the immigrants would be easy for the nation to return the illegal immigrants. What if it is difficult to seperate these immigrants from the original country people? Will we know from which country did they come? Will their respective countries acknowledge these people? The author assumes answers to these questions. If the nation is not able to identify the original country of the immigrant then it can be difficult to return them, considering the costs and the time the government will have to invest in this process. And if, their respective country does not acknowledge their identities and refuses to take them back in, then this gives rise to another problem and it would cost a lot to the government. If any of the assumptions above prove unwarranted, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide specific evidence (perhaps in the form of some systematic research),about the specific threat posed to the country's economy, national identity and perhaps cost involved in the process of returning these illegal immigrants to their countries, only then can the argument be efficiently evaluated.