An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Here the author concludes that a new type of millet needs to be promoted by the government of Tagus in order to curb vitamin A deficiency among its people. While this could be a potential solution to the problem at hand, but the predicted outcome however could be debatable.

To begin with, the author mentions that the new breed of millet will cost more. This could have a deleterious effect as many people may opt to remove millet's from their diet and look for cheaper substitutes. Even if the farmers are paid subsidies to grow this new breed of millet, it cannot be ascertained conclusively that the market price of this millet will be the same as existing millet breeds.

secondly, the author assumes that the new breed of millet will be readily adopted by the people of Tagus, since millet's are their staple food. This assumption is flawed as it is not conclusive that the people of Tagus have only one staple food, It could very well be possible that they are accustomed to having multiple staple foods in their diet, and may choose to stop eating this new breed of millet if it were to become too expensive for them.

Finally, the author concludes that the only way to combat vitamin A deficiency is by aggressively promoting this new breed of millet. The idea that vitamin A deficiency can only be reduced by the consumption of an unnaturally designed form of millet is questionable. There needs to be proper studies conducted and the results analyzed before we can judge the effectiveness of this newly designed crop. There could also be many other foods which could be both, affordable to the people of Tagus, as well as be rich in vitamin A content. But to conclude that only the consumption of the new breed of millet will reduce the vitamin A deficiency is flawed.

As mentioned above there are several questions such as the affordability of the millet, and the viability of the proposed approached that needs to be answered before it can be concluded as to how Vitamin A deficiency can be curbed.