"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author here recommends Adams Realty over Fitch, based on his past experiences with both the firms. But the author bases his argument on just assumptions and previous experiences, without providing any conclusive evidence to support his clam. The authors stand is flawed for the following reasons.

To begin, the author assumes that the number of employees in the organization has a direct correlation with the efficiency and profitability of a firm. But maybe Fitch Reality operates in a much smaller region as compared to Adams, and may not need as many agents as the latter. It could also be possible that Fitch Reality sells only affordable homes to middle class customers while Adams target customers might be the rich, who are looking for expensive bungalows, which could also account for the higher average and greater revenues for Adams that the author mentions. This is not an accurate measure of efficiency of a firm, as Adams might only need to sell half as many homes as Fitch to make more revenue.

To add this, the author states an example of his previous experience with Fitch, that happened 10 years ago, and compares it with his experience with Adams just one year back. This argument does not hold any water, as it grossly fails to consider the socio-economic factors of two very distant times. How was the economy of the country doing 10 years back? Was it booming, where everyone had money to spend or was the economy going through a ‘lull’ where people are usually apprehensive about make big investments on homes. Also, it is not clearly mentioned the type of houses that he had listed with both the firms. If he listed a much expensive house with fitch, then it could explain why it took longer to sell it, as it is usually much harder to find customers willing to buy expensive houses.

Finally, in the example that the author provides, he fails to mention the locality or the type of neighborhood’s both these houses were in. If one was in a neighborhood very well known for its crime rates while the other listed with Adams was in a much safer neighborhood, with easily accessible amenities, then the comparison drawn between these two instances is automatically invalidated as they are two different scenarios. Another factor could be the connectivity to commercial and office spaces from the home. If the house that was listed with Fitch 10 years ago was in the outskirts of a city with limited connectivity to schools, offices and malls, while the one listed with Adams is much near to the heart of the city with better connectivity and access to schools, malls and offices, then the latter house is by default a much easier house to market and sell.

As mentioned above, there are many assumptions in the authors statements, that either needs clarification to be provided, or be substantiated with sufficient evidence before it can be decided as to which firm is better, Fitch or Adams.