An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The given argument, albeit seems reasonable at the first glance, has many flaws in it. if the author does not correct it, it could lead to serious health issues which in turn could exacerbate the already worsened problem.

first of all, the international development organization has noticed deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of tagus and would like to respond and take action for it. it is noticed that, they are planning to introduce a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. but, there is no evidence stating whether this new breed is in supply or that it has been tested and verified to yield good results. if the new millet has not undergone any safety check or if its reliability has not been proved yet, then how could it be administered to the people? what would happen if it does not yield fruitful results or that it is not effective and produces counter effects?

Secondly, there is a mention regarding the incentives to be paid to farmers in order to cultivate the seeds of millets which cost more. On what basis has been the price fixed? is it because it is going to be widely used? also, the farmers may not be in a position to farm such product if they had not been taken care of well by the government. A detailed study has to be made so that the organization can ensure the product to yield good results keeping in mind various factors like fertilizers, soil fertility and climatic conditions. Moreover, those farmers in debt, if not properly taken care of, may not agree to harvest millets.

Thirdly, a 100% assurance is given by the author that, people will readily adopt the new variety since it is the staple food of tagus. but what the author fails to notice is that, how will people readily accept a new product without knowing its implications? Furthermore, residents may be scared that it could lead to damaging effects tantamount to adding oil in the already lit fire.

Finally, the argument states that the government should do everything it can to promote the new variety in order to combat vitamin A deficiency. but, instead of taking hasty decisions, the government can think of adopting several other measures in order to mitigate the problem. The reason behind this is that, the treasury will be dearth of money in taking up the task of achieving something that may or may not yield a correct outcome.

Hence to conclude, we can sum up the facts that the given argument posits flaws which if not taken into account could lead to the destruction of mankind in tagus. Experiments must be conducted in animals and the results should be justified before adopting the procedure. also, a backup method could be thought of if in case the given method fails, so that the government need not face money related issues in future.so, a survey could be conducted and found out whether people are willing to try the new variety of millet.