An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that the government is introducing a expensive but new breed of millet, replete with vitamin A to ameliorate the vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. But, the argument is prone to fallacy for several reasons.

First of all, the government is trying to eradicate this lack of vitamin A among people just by introducing the new breed. But the incumbent government does not take the sufficiency of this new breed in account, whether the gross production of new breed of millet will be proved to be enough or falls short. In case, there is no indication of the acres of lands that will grow profuse amount of millet for all the nation, the argument fails in this regard. However, the argument will be strengthened if the government has a planned production of millet that will meet the demand of vitamin A, subsequently, the government can decide whether they should import more or not afterwards.

Secondly, the government will provide subsidies for farming the new variety of millet to encourage the peasants to produce more, there is no evidence that the farmers will consider this as a lucrative project, since Tagus is a poverty afflicted nation. Farmers will only produce millet if they can reap profits from millet production, otherwise it will be tough to persuade them. For instance, despite underwriting wheat production, if farmers of a particular region make loss while selling the wheat into market, they will obviously be discouraged to produce wheat furthermore. Therefore, the government also should make the market policy to ensure farmers' profit from millet production, thus gaining the farmers' co-operation in increasing millet production.

Thirdly and most importantly, the argument evinces vague description about the new breed of millet. This new breed of millet, will be feasible to produce abundantly, if and only if, the soil of that region contains the sufficient nourishment to produce this new breed. The argument fails to provide any information about the characteristic of this new breed. For example, a new breed of mango, if by its intrinsic properties, grow in more moisture-based soil, the farmers will face constraints while producing it in any arid region. Nonetheless, the argument would be strengthened if the government first check the feasibility of that new breed and ensures its production in Tagus.

In conclusion, the argument falls short for the above mentioned reasons. The conclusion of the argument relies on certain factors, for which, in this case, contains little evidence. Therefore, the argument remains weak and open to debate.