An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The arguments states that the state of tagus has high deficiency of vitamin A among its citizens and government should not be dormant on this issue. To tackle this, researchers have developed a new breed of millet which contains high amount of vitamin A. it further states that even though the price of such seeds are high, subsidies can be given to promote their harvesting. there are several unanswered questions in the argument which will decide the success of this policy. They will be discussed one by one in next few paragraphs.

The main flaw in the argument is the absence of any statistical data. it just states the deficiency of vitamin A among the people without any numbers to actually quantify it. it may be the case that the people are deficient in certain vitamin because of their faulty lifestyle or improper diet. In this case, it may be more viable to improve the diet rather than supplanting it with other diet. also, statistics about yield of the farm is not given. it is possible that the yield is far too less to effectively satiate need of every citizen and in such a situation, the mentioned proposal will fail.

Other unanswered question is related to the funding for the subsidies planned to the farmers. it is already stated that tagus is impoverished nation, so the government can obviously not incorporate the burden to include such an ambitious scheme in their budget. rather, if it is to be financed by any international community, the draft of monetory requirements and funding is very important for the successful implementation of the scheme.

it is also assumed in the argument that people will readily accept new type of millet in their diet as ordinary millet is already their staple food. But this argument can only be supported if there is no discernible change in the quality and the cost of the new millet produced. For example, if the taste of this millet is different than that of ordinary one, then, the implementation of the scheme might involve resistance from the people in accepting the new diet.

Finally, the whole argument is based on the assumption that tagus will successfully produce the new engineered millet that might have been produced and tested somewhere else as it is "international organisation" which is responsible in its development. there is no reason provided in the argument to accept that it can be successfully grown in the concerned area.

So, it can be concluded from the above paragraphs that there are many unattended questions whose answers have been readily assumed in the given argument and the success of the scheme will depend on the positive answers of the mentioned questions.