Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that governments should invest commensurate in both arts as well as military. I am of the view that government should not overlook arts as in the 21st century, it is the soft power like cinema and cultural activities that influences the world more than hard power that comes through military. having said that, I do not endorse the word "proportionately" implicitly mentioned in the statement. The proportion of the budget for military should be more than that for arts as defense is the responsibility of government whereas, arts has to have participation from both government and its people.

As claimed in the opening paragraph, improvement of arts in any country influence its soft power. there is growing importance of the "war" of cultures and ideas and not conventional "war" on borders in 21st century. The best example of such an invisible power is of the film industry. The prosperous cinema means that it is not only appreciated by the people of the host country but also globally. As a result, culture of the host nation gets globalized and influence people across its borders. In this case increase in investment by the government may increase latent soft power.

Moreover, the duty of the government is also to be concerned about the welfare of its society apart from protecting its borders. Good budget proportion for the arts may help in more enthusiastic participation of people in such activities which in turn will help in overall development of its people. but, one must also note that common people has an equal stake in development of arts. If the people are not willing to take part in it, no matter how much does the government spend in arts, it will remain underdeveloped.

However, defense is the major task to be managed by the government. there will not be two views in the proportioning of government budget between arts and military. Of course, the later one should get more proportion because unsafe borders will cause fear in the minds of people and as a result, arts could not flourish.

So, one may conclude that arts is requirement of the 21st century for welfare of the society and to exercise latent power known as "soft power" but, military is the foremost responsibility of any government even today. So, government should not overlook arts as a field that is reponsibility of only people but at the same time it should not neglect it.