The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument cites the reason for diminishing viewership for their late-night programmes and draws a certain conclusion based upon the contended reason. they claim that the reason for decrease in viewership is due to less time devoted to local and weather news as compared to national news. they conclude that to lure back local business and to rejuvenate their late-night viewership, they need to devote commensurate time for local news and weather as well as for national news. The argument may be accepted or rejected by various questions discussed below.

First and foremost, a strong conclusion of incorporating specific type of news is made without any statistical data. many ambiguous terms like "less time","most of the complaints", are also used in the argument. Suppose that the number of news channels have increased over the years, then automatically, viewership will be distributed among them. Interviews may also be conducted to draw acceptable conclusions.

Moreover, the cause of the decreased viewership is also not clearly stated. it may be the case that more people gets acquainted to their smartphone applications to get local news. they get daily weather updates on their phone. In such a situation, devoting more time to local news and weather update will not help in replenishing the old viewership. also, business does not care about the content shown by the channels. they are only concerned with the number of viewers and to conclude that devoting more time to such affairs will increase revenue generated from the local business will be fallacious.

it may also be the case that local business are espousing more economical way of advertising through social media and banners. they might not return to their old way of advertising even if the viewership of the news channels is increased. news channels should conduct surveys in business community to answer this unattended question to reach acceptable conclusion.

So, news agencies should answer many questions to contend that devoting more time to local and weather news will increase their late-night viewership and help to elevate revenue generated from local businesses. These question includes the cause of diminishing viewership, cause of local business refraining from advertising in news channels, actual statistics of the people concerned about the content of late-night news and the inferences from the surveys conducted in the business community.