A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that pet food company have test food samples of the pet, accused of being adulterated by some of the consumers, and found it to be negative. Based solely on this experiment, they conclude that their pet food is unadulterated and no more investigation is required. there are many flaws in the argument which will be discussed now.

it seems clearly a surreal situation when all category of pets experience distress. The chemicals that are pernicious to dogs may be innocuous to cats. so, if the complaints are registered by the owners of dogs and the food product that is being tested is meant for dogs, clearly the experiment can not produce any evidence. also, the area from which complaints have been registered is also important as quality of food product may be vulnerable to weather change, it may act as catalyst in some conditions. if the experiment is not conducted in the same conditions as the area where this ambiguity is found, no inferences can be drawn from the results of the experiment.

Moreover, there is also a statistical sampling flaw in the argument. it is provided that 4 million pounds of pet food was recalled and various samples were tested. The actual quantity of the food in the market is not provided so nothing can be inferred from the results of the experiments. Suppose the sampling done is biased and does not represent the actual market, no inference can be drawn from the experiment. also the authenticity of the approving agency is not provided. again, the threshold for various chemicals will depend on the type of pet administered by the food.

The author presents very strong conclusion on the basis of just one experiment which again is clearly misleading. More detailed analysis should be performed in order to reach the final conclusion. The goal of the company should not be just to check if their food product is innocous or not but to reach the cause of the problem.