Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

logical reasoning and moral reasoning both comprise the nature of the human beings and it should be duly noted that the concepts and foundations of morality and that of the logical reasoning are not mutually exclusive of one another. Therefore it is of prime importance that the education system designed should balance both these aspects and impart the education of both these fields in desirable quantities.

If we consider a person who has been imparted a great deal of academic knowledge in some particular field and in during this process he has been only taught a modicum of ethics and morality. then he might get himself established at a very reputed career but it can be suggested that he might end up being a boor or an indecent person. In such a case he will never be able to serve the society to the fullest with such indifference. His mindset might become self-centered due to a lack of moral instincts. such a person might even end up using his or her knowledge in inappropriate ways just gain his own benefits.Unless the person is given the value education by sole means of logical reasoning he cannot probably produce a moral society.

However, if we tally this above-mentioned person with someone who has been given a generous knowledge about the morality and the ethics to be followed in the society will certainly end up being a very good human being who will be responsible towards the society. he might be honest and nurture all the good instincts desirable in a human being. it is obvious that in our way of life we have to take a lot of decisions every now and then which involves efficient logical reasoning to arrive at the optimum solution. In such a case a person with lower skills of effective reasoning is prone to taking the wrong decisions at several steps and might end up failing in several aspects of life. he might get cheated in several instances or people might take undue advantages of that person. What good will be that moral values without these skills which cannot assure a person a decent lifestyle?

Therefore it is essential to maintain a balanced education system in which the person is imparted with the knowledge of moral values that ensures that he will respect the morality in the society and cultivate philanthropism and benevolence in his character and at the same time the person should be skilled enough to think logically in every aspect of life so that he remains conscious and aware of the things happening in and around him, the prospects of the decisions that he takes on in his life, the careers to pursue, etc. such a person can only contribute efficiently to the society's development and wholesome welfare.