An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement eagerly claims that the issue of vitamin A deficiency can be easily solved by the the newly engineered millet which seems to be vitamin rich. There is a condition mentioned by the author that people will for sure adopt this new product as it is their staple food. The verdict as tempting as it seems to be fails to provide answers to many vital questions without which it is just vague to come to any conclusion.

First the author never bother about mentioning that will this new millet be suitable to masses. What if it turns to affecting negatively to the majority or fails to adjust with their metabolism. Weather this product was tested on sufficient and varied rannge of people to ensure its result along with the safety. Author also does not throw any light on the fact that could Tangus, the impoverished nation afford this costly product and if yes then how many. As if it out of reach of majority then it won't be effective in fighting the national vitamin A deficiency.

Farmers are to be paid subsidies for cultivating the millet but no confirmation has been taken form the side of the farmers whether they agree for so. If the farmers are unwilling to work accordingly then it belies the claim of author there and then. For an instance let us assume that the farmers are all set to produce this new millet then what is the assurance that the soil of the nation fosters the crop. It is highly probable that the soil and environment is unfavorable for the crop thus debunking the vision the vision of the author.

Another biased ground for author's conclusion is his confidence in the fact the crowd of nation will get adopted to the crop but he has nowhere mentioned that actually how many people of Tangus actually like millet and hence those who turn had been avoiding millet from a long will continue to do so thus doing nothing to cure the deficiency. Also it has never been found that what is the main reason for this deficiency. If it would have had the it would have been easy to hit that cause directly.

Thus with so many possibilities lest undiscovered the author's conclusion is vague and open to criticism.