People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A competition between heart and brain is what this case is. In this growing world where everyone is running after success without looking behind there is no room for emotions left anymore. Logic has its hegemony over the worldly affairs now a days. Hence it is not incorrect to say those who take decisions on the ground of emotions are the inept decision makers.

Emotions are left far behind in the race for goal and and emotions are hardly genuine anymore. Dilemmas have stopped being the function of emotions. For example if a judge, supposed to provide justice to the victim family by punishing the criminal gets emotional swayed by the heart touching story of the culprit then it is quite possible that he will base his verdict in the negligence of the even the strongest proofs. Later that judge will convince himself concluding that proofs against the culprit which he overlooked might have been false. This is a critical case but in our day to day lives if the action is based on the emotions it is sure to produce its side effects.

Logic has to be the primary element of consideration while taking either trivial or major decision as the logic can't be deceptive while the emotions can be so often if not always. I do not deny that emotions can lead to a right decision but the odds of happening that seem to be very less as the emotions are not always backed by the honest interpretations of the the story. Suppose a person who is constantly ill treated by his partner then due to his love for the person and care for the relation, he will pull a wool over his eyes and bear all the sufferings which is fair. But if the same person follows the call of logic then he will take effective steps to ameliorate the situation which is what should actually happen.

Hence it is worthy to trust logic prior to the emotions as it provide the original picture. It might be bitter but is surely not partial. Emotions usually lead into a worse condition eventually which would have been solved if the decision taken would had been just to his brain providing logic.