An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument states that an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A in response to vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus.First of all the argument didnt provide any valid evidence or statistics mentioning the population,income status or the areas that are most affected by this deficiency.There are vitamin tablets and fruits that are rich in vitamin A that can used to get over this deficiency but the author didnt consider other factors that might have helped too.

The author also fails to recognize if other measures had been taken before or not,or if those measures had worked or not.The argument further states that the millet seeds cost more but the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety.Not everyone are affected with vitamin A deficiency,those who arent affected might develop vitaminosis from excess consumption of vitamins.And millet being the staple food of Tagus means that the new breed will provide vitamin A whether people need it or not. The argument fails to fill in blanks as to how many people are affected or the severity of deficiency in that area.

The government can take other measures too other than funding the new millet breed such as import fruits rich in vitamin A such as pomegranate ,mangoes,plant vegetables that are rich too such as carrots,papaya or promote campaigns that encourage people to take vitamin tablets or supplements ,its not necessary to just focus on millet as there are other options too but the author fails to discriminate such possiblities and

draws conclusion on mere assumptions.

Such vague assumptions highly invalidates the hypothesis made by the author.The case would have been in favor of the author if he had provided valid evidences mentioning the severity of people affected with this deficiency or if he had provided further information that people in Tagus had adopted all means to tackle the problem but failed and hence this new measure is taken.But since such important information are missing we cannot draw conclusion on such insufficient informations.