An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be paid

The recommendation states that a new type of millet will help reduce Vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus. However, this recommendation is incomplete and cannot be used to draw conclusions.

Firstly, we need to know if the seeds of the new type of millet are different from the old type of millet seeds or not. This will enable us to gauge whether these new seeds require more water, better soil quality to grow etc or will the older provisions of Tagus will be enough to cultivate this new type of millet. Even if farmers are given subsidies, the genetically engineered millets may require some special fertiliser which has to be provided to farmers along with lessons on how to cultivate these millets. This will not only ensure compliance by farmers in cultivating this crop but will also ensure that the farm land can be reused and soil quality is maintained.

Secondly, we will need to know if the taste of engineered breed is acceptable by the people of Tagus to readily adopt it in their daily diet.Moreover, prices of this new type of millet have to be regulated by concerned authorities so that this new millet if affordable for Tagus. Also. ensuring sufficient supply of this millet, will have a positive effect on the availability of this crop. Is the supply chain Is not broken, people might be tempted to buy this type of millet.

Lastly, it is mentioned that the government of Tagus should do everything it can do to promote this new type of millet. However, only promoting will not help to ameliorate the problem of Vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus. If the population of Tagus is impoverished, the government should think of schemes like Minimum Support Price for people living below the poverty line along with the promotion of benefits of the new type of millet so that the general population of Tugas can buy and consume this breed of millet.

Thus, if the above suggestions are followed, there will be a high chance of improving Vitamin A levels in the people of Tugas.