An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be p

The author of the passage argues that the government of Tagus should put their effort to promote the new type of millet to combat vitamin A deficiency. While it seems to be rational ways to improve people's health status, however, the author relies on some unjustified assumptions; thus it is necessary to ask some questions to make the author's argument understandable.

First, the author assumes that the benefits of introducing the new type of millet outweighs the cost of that. However, there is no specific evidence to prove it. In other words, The government's subsidy would exceed the cost of other measures. The expenditure can be used to implement other policies to solve the people's vitamin A's problem. For example, it might be better for the government to buy a supplement for vitamin A to the people directly. Like this, the author should analyze the cost and benefits to assert his or her claim. To be specific, considering the situation of the impoverished nation of Tagus, the author should answer this question: "the benefits of this method exceeds the benefits of alternatives measure?"

Secondly, the author presumes that vitamin A deficiency is harmful and deleterious problem for people and it should be handled by the government of Tagus. Even if people are low in vitamin A, it might not cause any serious health problems to their health. Furthermore, deficiency of vitamin A might be fixed by people themselves without help by the government. For example, if the problem is originated from just short-term and temporary natural disaster, it might be settled naturally. Therefore, the author should provide the answer to the question: Is it a really serious and emergent problem to a significant degree?

Lastly, the author supposed that the new millet might grow well based on the fact that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. However, it might not be the case. Because, the new millet is invented by the international development organization, which is totally new type for Tagus. Even if farmers easily cultivate original type of millet, no one guarantee that new type of millet might be fit for the environment of Tagus. To make it the best choice, the author should expound on how similar they are and how suitable the new millet can grow. It is logical to ask the author this question: Is Tagus suitable to grow the new type of millet?

Consequently, the author claims that to increase vitamin A among people, the government of Tagus should introduce the new type of millet by all means. However, the author relies on several invalid assumptions. Thus, to make the author's claim clear and pursuable, the author should answer some questions related to the cost of this new policy, the degree of the problem, and the environment of the new millet.