An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The recommendation from an international development organization to the government of Tagus for farming a newly engineered variety of millet is based on several claims that, while seem plausible prima facie, need to be investigated more rigorously. In order for the recommendation to be evaluated properly, three questions detailed below must be answered.

To begin with, the organization claims that the new millet variety is high in vitamin A. What exactly is the amount of vitamin A in it? Is it high enough to contribute at least some significant percentage of the recommended daily intake of vitamin A for an individual? Is it high enough to combat the deficiency among the people? It may well be that only consumption of the new millet variety does not do enough to overcome the vitamin A deficiency, in which case, additional measures must be explored. To fortify the validity of recommending the new variety as a generic cure, evidence must be provided, perhaps in the form of a scientific study that studies the efficacy of the variety in ameliorating the vitamin A deficiency.

Further, the organization claims that subsidies will be paid to farmers to encourage farming of the new variety. It is categorically assumed, however, that this will be a good enough incentive. What if farmers are wary of replacing the conventional varieties with a novel, unfamiliar, genetically engineered one? Is there evidence stating that the new breed proves to be a good return on the farmer's investment? Will subsidies cover all or at least most costs involved in farming - such as fertilizers, pesticides, water? Unless cultivating the new variety at subsidized rates is proven to be at least as cost effective as the varieties prevalent currently, it will be a tough sell to the farmers.

Finally, the organization asserts that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will purchase the new variety willingly. Is this a conclusion drawn from surveys conducted in Tagus, or an optimistic blanket statement? Have surveys been conducted recently in Tagus, among a sufficiently large slice of the population representative of their society, from which it can safely be inferred that they are generally accepting of the new variety? Since it is stated that Tagus is an impoverished nation, is the new variety affordable to the general populace? Even if it is, it may well be that they have a prejudice towards genetically modified crops. In that case, no matter how hard the government promotes and subsidizes the new variety, it has little chance of being adopted widely. To clarify on these aspects of the proposal, solid evidence is needed that answers the questions outlined above.

In conclusion, while the recommendation for the new and allegedly improved breed of millet to be farmed and sold in Tagus seems reasonable, it leaves much room for doubt as many questions have been left unanswered. Reliable evidence must be provided that provides answers to these questions raised above, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated and followed through.