An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this sophicasted world, maintaining your health and intake of balanced diet plays an important role to sustain throughout the daily activities and keep us mentally as well as physically fit. The prompt suggests that, in response to vitamin A deficiency, a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A. While the new type of seeds are expensive, farmers will be paid subsidies to grow them. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will adopt to it and thus, government will do everything to promote this new type of millet. In my opinion, I do not agree with the prompt and all the following questions need to be answered before coming to any kind of conclusion.

To maintain a balanced diet, we need to consume a variety of food and supplements to help us remain in shape and habitually fit. According to prompt, solely focusing on vitamin A, would not help to maintain the balance and thus, leading to even more spread of viral disease and leading to major endemic. To prevent this the government should focus equally on all kind of food supplements and vegetables to promote healthy living and not entirely on the new variety of millet.

As the new variety of millet is more costly, will the farmers be able to take the risk of growing this new variety? Even after providing subsidies, will the farmers be able to cope up with the expenses of fertilizers or any other kind of product needed to grow the new variety? Also, can the new variety be grown on the same farm land on which the old variety was grown and what would be the efficacy of the new crop that it will grow and can be sold to earn profits. Before coming to any type of conclusion, all these questions need to be answered.

Additionally, no evidence of proof is provided that the new variety will surely help to cope up with the vitamin A deficiency of Tagus. Will this new variety be safe for consumption and have no allergic reaction or any kind of side effects? Also, promoting this new variety will need some substantial proof and evidence of its success before any kind of promotion to be done.

In conclusion, totally depending on the promotion of new variety will not help to handle the deficiency and need a more substential plan to implement this new variety of plant and all the above questions need to be answered.