An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that the government of Tagus should promote the new millet to combat the vitamin A deficiency. The reasoning provided for this claim is that an engineered new breed millet high in Vitamin A is invented and since it is already a staple food in Tagus, it will be readily accepted by natives. Moreover, to compensate the high cost of seeds farmers will be paid subsidies. Though this claim may also have merit, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions, and solely based on the evidence the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. The author asserts the new engineered breed of millet is high in vitamin A. But he does not mention whether the consumer will be able to assimilate this high vitamin A with good efficiency or not. It is possible that a food is high in some vitamin but due to further complicacy in its type and biomolecular structure, the consumer is unable to assimilate it effectively in the body. The author's premises, the basis for his argument, lack any legitimate evidentary support and render his conclusion inevidentary.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. Firstly, he assumes that millet being the staple food, its altered breed will also be accepted by consumers. In this assumption, author has not considered the other factors like cost of new millet, taste of new millet, etc. to determine the acceptability of the new breed millet. Secondly, author assumes the government will do everything to promote new millet because it will help to combat Vitamin A deficiency. But it also possible that government has other more important issues also to work upon and they may not have allotted budget for subsidies on new breed millet farming. The author weakens his argument by making assumptions and failing to provide explication of the links between the vitamin A deficiency among citizens and their goverment's plan to combat it he assumes exists.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. The author failed to imply that a high Vitamin A food would also be effectively assimilated in the body. The assumption of acceptability of new breed just because the old form was a staple food is also invalid. And the assumption of government's best intent to cure Vitamin A deficiency is also a fallacy. If the author truely hopes to change his readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentary support. Withou these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.