The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition among youngsters of the society is the best way to prepare them for the leadership role in various sectors. The author's opinion is that cooperation is essential while competition is not. In my opinion, the sense of competition is also necessary for the leadership role capability among youngsters. I majorly disagree with the author's opinion and will argue that instilling a sense of competition is also very necessary for leadership roles assumed by the young generation in various fields.

Firstly, I will like to my argument with the help of an example. In the central government of India, recently, few changes in the ministries allocation were implemented by the PM. The union health minister was replaced acknowledging the mismanagement after the covid second wave. This kind of strict decision has instilled a feeling of competition in the present incumbent minister that he has to derive results otherwise the high command will look for other better office bearers. The example proves the importance of competition and how competition can inspire improvisations and betterment.

Further, I will use an example from the corporate world. Elon musk is a competitor of Jeff Bezos in space-related ventures. This competition is inspiring both of them to do better which is resulting in further enhanced results for the service of mankind. If this competition was not present and replaced by just cooperation, then certainly they would not have pushed themselves this much for the dominance in the venture. This example highlights the importance of competition on the results in the corporate world.

However, in some cases, this may not be true. In NGOs of great importance, there is no requirement of competition and it should be replaced with cooperation to fulfill the collective goal. Someone can argue that cooperation is also an essential quality for a leadership role in all the offices including government, industries, etc. I agree with it but I believe it will be wrong to say that competitive skills are less important.

In conclusion, I believe in almost every field, competitive skills are also very important for the progress and development in the work so, this is also a required skill among the youngsters. To support my argument, the two examples are taken from two prominent work fields of government and the corporate world. This example explicates the importance of instilling competitive skills among youngsters without limiting the importance of cooperative skills. However, there can be some exemptions also to the argument presented depending upon the leadership roles in specific work areas.